J&C Committee


    Chair:  Stephanie Clark, Ph.D., Iowa State University
    Vice Chair: Rich Rogers, ACS CCPScardello
    Board Liaison & Immediate Past ChairJohn Antonelli, Antonelli’s Cheese Shop

    Members at large:

    Patrick Bleck, ACS CCP, Specialty Food Sherpa
    Matt Bonano, Brooklyn South Cheese
    Craig Gile, ACS CCP, Cabot Creamery Cooperative
    John Greeley, Gourmet Foods International
    David Lockwood, Neal’s Yard Dairy
    Kirsten Hindes, ACS CCP, Laura Chenel’s Chevre, Inc.
    Tom Kooiman, Portland Creamery
    Rachel Perez, ACS CCP, Tony’s Fine Foods
    Julia Powers, ACS CCP, Peterson Company
    Karen & Richard Silverston

    ACS Staff Liaisons: Michelle Lee, Programs & Operations Director and Matt Richard, Database Manager

    The Judging & Competition Committee is inherently linked to the Annual Conference. This committee is responsible for determining all criteria for the cheeses entered into the competition by ACS member cheesemakers. The committee determines the roster of judges and their compensation, the categories of cheeses, the judging processes, scoring, reporting, and awards criteria. The committee also runs the Judging & Competition and Awards Ceremony, manages logistics, coordinates volunteers, and guides production of a printed awards brochure that is published onsite and made available to attendees at the Festival of Cheese.